KHL All-Star Game Master Show Review


This year’s KHL All-Star weekend was held in Bratislava’s ”Arena Slovnaft” on January 10th and 11th.  The Legends game was held on January 10th and Yakushev Team won over Rusnak Team in overtime (8:7). KHL Master Show was held on January 11th just before the All-Star game.  The program started at 14:35 and ended with award ceremony about 18:00. 


First lines were voted by fans, second lines by KHL media and the final members by the KHL.

Team West – First Line

Alexander Yeryomenko (Dynamo Moscow), Sandis Ozolins (Dinamo Riga), Deron Quint (Spartak Moscow), Alexander Radulov (CSKA Moscow), Ilya Kovalchuk (SKA St. Petersburg) and Jonathan Cheechoo (Medvescak Zagreb).
Alexander Radulov suffered a concussion three days before the event and was forced to skip it, also didn’t have a replacement.
Alexander Yeryomenko had an injury and decided to skip the game and prepare for the Olympics. He was replaced by Lev Praha’s Petri Vehanen, who said that he does not feel 100% ready and was replaced by Slovan Bratislava’s Jaroslav Januš.

Second Line

Ivan Lisutin (Vityaz), Kurtis Foster (Medvescak Zagreb), Maxim Chudinov (SKA St. Petersburg), Nikolai Prokhorkin (CSKA Moscow), Viktor Tikhonov ( SKA St. Petersburg) and Leo Komarov (Dynamo Moscow).

Remaining West Players

Bogdan Kiselevich (Severstal Cherepovets), Ilya Gorokhov (Lokomotiv Yaroslavl) and Denis Denisov (CSKA Moscow), Milan Bartovic, Miroslav Satan (both of Slovan Bratislava), Marcel Hossa (Dinamo Riga) and Maxim Afinogenov (Vityaz Podolsk).  

Team East –  First Line

Mikko Koskinen (Sibir Novosibirsk), Kirill Koltsov (Salavat Yulaev Ufa), Shaun Heshka (Ak Bars Kazan), Sergei Mozyakin (Metallurg Magnitogorsk), Danis Zaripov (Metallurg Magnitogorsk) and Brandon Bochenski of Barys Astana.

Second Line

Konstantin Barulin (Ak Bars), Chris Lee (Metallurg Magnitogorsk), Juuso Hietanen (Torpedo Nizhny Novgorod), Fyodor Malykhin (Avtomobilist Yekaterinburg), Enver Lisin (Admiral Vladivostok) and Jori Lehtera (Sibir Novosibirsk).

Remaining East Players

Evgeny Medvedev (Ak Bars Kazan), Andrei Zubarev (Salavat Yulaev Ufa), Denis Kulyash (Avangard Omsk Region), Alexander Popov (Avangard Omsk Region), Yegor Milovzorov (Neftekhimik Nizhnekamsk), Jakub Petruzalek (Amur Khabarovsk) and Talgat Zhailauov (Barys Astana).

All-Star Master Show

Leo Komarov in the Fastest Skater Competition

The Master Show consisted of competition for the Fastest Skater, Puck Control Relay, Shooting Accuracy, Hardest Shot, Shootout and Fastest Skater Team Relay. Team West won 4:3.

Fastest Skater

Team West, competitors were Leo Komarov, Viktor Tikhonov and Milan Bartovič and for Team East, Yegor Milovzorov, Fyodor Malykhin and Chris Lee. Team West’s Milan Bartovič was the winner. (West 1, East 0)

Goaltender Competition

All goalies have taken part in this discipline. They had to shoot three pucks into the goal from the opposite goal line.  First to battle were East’s Konstantin Barulin and West’s Ivan Lisutin. Lisutin put two pucks in the goal an won the round. Then, East’s Mikko Koskinen and West’s Jaroslav Januš faced off while Koskinen put one puck in the net, and Januš none. The victory was given to Team West, thanks to Lisutin. (West 2, East 0).

Puck Control Relay

Team West competitors were Maxim Afinogenov, Ilya Kovalchuk, Geoff Platt, Ilya Grokhov and Jonathan Cheechoo and for Team East Talgat Zhailauov, Kirill Koltsov, Denis Parshin, Alexander Popov and Enver Lisin took part.  Team East was faster and won the round. (West 2, East 1)

Shooting Accuracy

Team West competitors were Sandis Ozolins, Deron Quint and Marcel Hossa, and for Team East, Brandon Bochenski, Evgeni Medvedev and Sergei Mozyakin.  Deron Quint managed to take down all four targets in only five shots and was named the winner representing Team West. (West 3, East 1)

Hardest Shot

Team West competitors were Denis Denisov, Maxim Chudinov and Kurtis Foster, and for Team East, Andrei Zubarev, Denis Kulyash and Shaun Heshka.  Kurtis Foster had the hardest shot in Team West (157,86 km/h), but Team East still won with Denis Kulyash’s shot of 161,63 km/h. (West 3, East 2)


Team West competitors were Nikolai Prokhorkin, Jonathan Cheechoo and Miroslav Šatan, and for Team East Jori Lehtera, Yegor Milovzorov and Fyodor Malykhin. East’s Yegor Milovzorov found his inspiration in NHL All-Star Master Shows, and decided to put on a fish hat and dive into the net.  The shootout attempt was successful!  West’s Jonathan Cheechoo came in with two breathtaking spin-o-ramas, but missed both shots. Also West’s Miroslav Šatan was the only player to score both shots, despite East’s goalie Barulin taking off his jersey to show off some magnificent abs, but the win was awarded to Team East (probably for the creativity). (West 3, East 3)

Fastest Skater Team Relay

Team West, competitors were Jaroslav Januš (goalie), Maxim Chudinov, Bogdan Kiselevich, Nikolai Prokhorkin, Milan Bartovič and Viktor Tikhonov, and for Team East, Mikko Koskinen (goalie), Chris Lee, Juuso Hietnanen, Jakub Petružalek, Enver Lisin and Jan Kovar.  Jaroslav Januš took an assuring lead, and Team West managed to keep it, taking the win in the round, and the whole Master Show. (West 4, East 3)


by Puck Media, LLC